Is this the end? (Part I.)

Is this the end? (Part I.)

A pop requiem in three parts by Jean-Luc Fafchamps
Part one: Dead little girl

Pour ouvrir la saison lyrique, la Monnaie a passé commande au compositeur belge Jean-Luc Fafchamps d’un pop requiem. Sous le titre Is this the end?, cette nouvelle partition se décompose en trois volets dont le premier, Dead little girl, est présenté en septembre sous la forme d’un live-filmed opera.

Le livret d’Éric Brucher nous met face à une adolescente bloquée entre la vie et la mort et confrontée à d’autres protagonistes qui évoluent dans un état transitoire : celui des « consciences en partance ». Avec la crise actuelle du coronavirus, ce spectacle prend un sens particulier dans la mesure où de nombreuses familles et proches ont été dans l’impossibilité de pouvoir dire adieu aux victimes.

La mise en scène est confiée à Ingrid von Wantoch Rekowski qui se propose de donner vie à cette « messe » des demis-morts. Présenté sous une forme inédite, le spectacle associe un film – tourné dans les bâtiments de la Monnaie – à une performance musicale jouée en ‘live’ sur la scène du théâtre par dix-sept musiciens de l’Orchestre symphonique de la Monnaie, dix-huit artistes des Chœurs de la Monnaie et trois chanteurs solistes.

CRÉDITS

Direction musicale: Patrick Davin
Mise en scène: Ingrid von Wantoch Rekowski
Costumes: Regine Becker
Chef des chœurs: Alberto Moro
Libretto: Eric Brucher

Film: Jean Claude Wouters

The Teenager: Sarah Defrise
The Man: Amaury Massion
The Woman: Albane Carrère

Acteurs/danseurs : Angelo Dello Spedale, Aurélien Dubreuil-Lachaud, Pierre Gervais, Leslie Mannès, Aurélio Mergola, Ninon Perez

Orchestre symphonique de la Monnaie
Chœurs de la Monnaie
Académie des chœurs de la Monnaie s.l.d. Benoît Giaux

Production: De Munt / La Monnaie / Heliox
Avec le soutien de: Ars Musica et Lucilia Caesar

DATES/LIEUX
12 sept. '20 - La Monnaie - BE
13 sept. '20 - La Monnaie - BE

Is this the end? (Part I.)

Is this the end? (Part I.)

A pop requiem in three parts by Jean-Luc Fafchamps
Part one: Dead little girl

To start the opera season, La Monnaie commissioned a pop requiem from the Belgian composer Jean-Luc Fafchamps. With the title Is this the end?, this new piece has three parts, the first of which, Dead Little Girl, will be performed as a live-filmed opera in September.

Éric Brucher’s libretto introduces us to a teenager who is caught between life and death and faces other characters hovering in a transitory state of ‘departing consciousness’. With the current Coronavirus crisis, this theme takes on a particular meaning in that many victims’ families or loved ones have been unable to say goodbye to them.

Ingrid von Wantoch Rekowski directs, aiming to give life to this ‘Mass’ of people who are half alive. Presented in a brand-new format, the show combines a film — shot in La Monnaie buildings — with a musical performance played on the theatre stage by seventeen musicians from La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra, eighteen vocalists from La Monnaie Chorus and three soloist singers.

CREDITS

Conductor: Patrick Davin
Director: Ingrid von Wantoch Rekowski
Costumes: Regine Becker
Chorus master: Alberto Moro
Libretto: Eric Brucher

Film: Jean Claude Wouters

The Teenager: Sarah Defrise
The Man: Amaury Massion
The Woman: Albane Carrère

Actors/Dancers: Angelo Dello Spedale, Aurélien Dubreuil-Lachaud, Pierre Gervais, Leslie Mannès, Aurélio Mergola, Ninon Perez

La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra
La Monnaie Chorus
MM Academy, led by Benoît Giaux

Production: De Munt / La Monnaie / Heliox
With the support of Ars Musica and Lucilia Caesar

 

DATES/VENUES
12 Sep '20 - La Monnaie - BE
13 Sep '20 - La Monnaie - BE